Lisa Richardson Named 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year
Lisa Richardson Named 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 04/27/2017

Lisa Richardson of Millsboro Middle School has been selected as the Indian River School District’s Teacher of the Year for 2017-2018.

The announcement was made at the district’s annual Teacher of the Year celebration on April 26. Richardson was chosen as the district’s overall winner from a pool of 16 candidates, one from each school.

Richardson has been a reading teacher at Millsboro Middle School since 2010. She was previously on the staff of East Millsboro Elementary School, where she served as a second-grade teacher from 2000-2010 and a first grade special education teacher in 1996-1997. She was East Millsboro’s Teacher of the Year in 2010-2011.

Richardson was also a second grade teacher at Long Neck Elementary School from 1997-2000 and a second grade special education teacher at Frankford Elementary School from 1994-1996.

Richardson holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Old Dominion University and a master’s degree in education from Wilmington University.

During her seven years at Millsboro Middle School, Richardson has been a member of the Instructional Leadership Team, an English Language Arts department chair, a teacher mentor, a Vision 2015 member and an IRSD middle school curriculum writer. She has also been an English Language Learners resource teacher, a Scholastic administrator and a member of the One School One Book committee, school safety team and CARE team.

“When you walk into Mrs. Richardson’s classroom you immediately feel a sense of confidence that stems from the welcoming environment she has created; one where she exudes the confidence that ‘we’ are all in this together and that failure is not an option,” Millsboro Middle School Principal Renee Jerns said. “On a daily basis, you will find Mrs. Richardson and her students engaged in reading and writing tasks applicable to the real world in an extremely well-structured environment of high expectations. Without a doubt, Mrs. Richardson embodies the very qualities all administrators search for in master teachers.”

“Lisa embodies the strength and character of the Indian River School District,” said former IRSD administrator Gary Brittingham. “She is a teacher with a broad background of knowledge and experiences in the teaching profession. Lisa has been able to combine what her years of successful experience has shown her to work with what research in best teaching practice has shown raises student achievement. This formula has proven successful for her and the Indian River School District.

“Her story is in many ways the story of the Indian River School District. She is product our school district who returned to give back and has done that in many capacities and done it well. Both inside and outside the classroom, she is and has been a role model for others. Every school and district needs a Lisa Richardson,” Brittingham added.

Brittingham was East Millsboro Elementary School principal during Richardson’s 12 years on the school staff.

Teacher of the Year winners from each district school are as follows:

Dori Camper, Southern Delaware School of the Arts
Ashley Collins, North Georgetown Elementary School
Laurie Hall, Phillip C. Showell Elementary School
Linda Hockman, Georgetown Kindergarten Center
Noel Lenhart, G.W. Carver Academy
Nicole Morey (Finalist), Georgetown Elementary School
Jill Oliva, Sussex Central High School
Thomas Peet, Howard T. Ennis School
Irene Retzos, John M. Clayton Elementary School
Justin Stoeckel, East Millsboro Elementary School
Daniele Squillante, Long Neck Elementary School
Jennifer Taylor, Georgetown Middle School
Meredith Wallace, Selbyville Middle School
Allison Walt, Indian River High School
Jill Young (Finalist), Lord Baltimore Elementary School

As the district’s Teacher of the Year, Richardson is now eligible for the state Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced in October.

Teachers of the Year 17-18
IRSD 2017-2018 Teachers of the Year. Seated (from left): finalists Nicole Morey, Lisa Richardson (overall winner) and Jill Young. Standing (from left): Noel Lenhart, Dori Camper, Jennifer Taylor, Meredith Wallace, Daniele Squillante, Alison Walt, Jill Oliva, Laurie Hall, Ashley Collins, Irene Retzos, Linda Hockman and Justin Stoeckel.